CHFI or CND Certification: Know What Takes You Where

The skyrocketing incidents of security breaches and internal as well as internal malicious attacks on information and data Information security has raised alarming security concerns for business organizations worldwide.  Not only are organizations chasing highly skilled and certified security professionals, but they are also investing tremendous amounts to get IT and networking staff trained in required competencies. Businesses must effectively assess existing security infrastructures to identify potential threats, define policies and procedures to combat critical scenarios that could lead to data security breaches, and defend against and investigate security attacks conducted by intruders and hackers.

EC-Council’s Certified Network Defender (CND) and Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator (CHFI) certifications are the perfect qualifications for security professionals intending to master extensive and the most up-to-date security skills.


CHFI is an end-to-end certification training program that instills comprehensive understanding of computer hacking and various aspects related to security investigations to discover hacking incidents. This all-inclusive certification equips security aspirants with hands-on experience to employ advanced tools to conduct computer investigations, digital forensics, and system’s data recovery. The CHFI program emphasizes the demonstration of foolproof techniques for conducting computer investigations using up-to-date technologies in digital forensics. CHFI certification authenticates your efficiency to locate the footprints of intruders and collect necessary evidence that can be used to prosecute offenders in a court of law.

The primary course highlights of the CHFI program include:

  • Understanding the process of computer forensics investigation
  • Understanding the file systems and hard disks
  • How to operate system forensics
  • How to defeat the techniques of anti-forensics
  • Understanding data acquisition and duplication
  • Exploring network forensics
  • How to investigate web attacks
  • Understanding database forensics
  • Understanding cloud, malware, and mobile forensics
  • How to investigate email crimes
  • How to create investigative reports

The CHFI certification can be achieved after successfully passing the EC0 312-49 exam. It constitutes 150 multiple choice questions to be completed in 4 hours durations through the EC Exam portal.


The CND certification program aims to deliver an across-the-board understanding of how to protect, detect, and respond to various security threats across a network. CND certification trainings encompass the core fundamentals of network essentials, including network and software technologies and defense fundamentals, along with network traffic signature intricacies. CND certification aims to support building secure networks across an organization. This skills-based, practically implemented, and empowering program is presented by the National Initiative of Cybersecurity Education (NICE).

Key areas covered under this certification include:

  • Computer network and defense
  • Network security fundamentals, including threats, vulnerabilities, and attacks
  • Security protocols, controls, and devices
  • Firewall and VPN configuration
  • Physical and host security
  • Wireless network defense
  • Risk and vulnerability analysis
  • Data backup and recovery
  • Managing incidents and response

CND certification is awarded by EC-Council after successfully passing the CND exam 312-38. The exam includes 100 multiple choice questions that need to be answered in 4 hours.


Both CND and CHFI certifications enable the aspirant to explain security-related technicalities with ample understanding of the implementation of tools and techniques. It is always beneficial to learn what a certification will enable you to accomplish before you choose the role of a security professional.

CHFI certification empowers IT professionals to execute various roles associated with information computer forensics, system security, and incident response management. You should certainly achieve the CHFI certification if you are in any one of the following:

  • Government agency
  • Police or any other law enforcement agency
  • Military or defense agency
  • Cyber Security profession
  • Systems administration
  • Legal, banking or insurance profession

CND certification supports network professionals in monitoring network security and assessing network vulnerabilities to protect a network from potential attacks effectively. CND can help you excel in your chosen role with advanced skills if you are or intend to be a:

  • Network Administrator
  • Network Security Engineer
  • Network Security Administrator
  • Network Defense Technician
  • Security Operator
  • Security Analyst


Organizations prefer employing a workforce with up-to-date credentials that prove efficiency in the specified domain. The career options after both the CHFI and CND certifications are wide-ranging and promising as both are globally-recognized and vendor-neutral certifications that are valued by companies large and small. Yet both certifications programs deliver specific expertise and skill sets in the context of system and network security. It is recommended that you analyze your areas of interest and then decide which certification is best for you.

NetCom Learning brings you workable training solutions to help you successfully prepare and pass various global certifications with the guidance of subject matter experts. You can contact NetCom Learning to learn more about system, network and cyber security training and certification courses.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *